Comedy Tonight: The Begatting of the President

Based on a book by the same title, The Begatting of the President is one of best satires to come out of the turbulent late ’60’s. Written in Biblical verse, it tells the story of LBJ’s Great Society, how he lost it in 1968 to an unappreciative youthful population unwilling to support the mess that was the Vietnam War, and how Richard Nixon “rose from the dead” to assume the Presidency. Compared to most political comedy albums before it, Begatting was unsparing in its criticism and bitterness, covering the assassinations of Robert Kennedy and Martin Luther King, Jr. with devastating profundity. Who better to narrate all this but the great Orson Welles, who, by this time, was an under-appreciated genius having to wait a few years before he would win an Oscar for lifetime achievement. Myron Roberts, Lincoln Haynes and Sasha Gilien co-wrote this comedy classic. There were also the books, The Begatting of the Revolution and The Begatting of Ronald Reagan. Neither of them (that I know of) were given the audio treatment. If I’m wrong, I would love to hear them.

L. B. Jenesis
The Defoilation of Eden
Burn, Pharaoh, Burn
The Coming of Richard
The Pacification of Goliath
Paradise Bossed
The Raising of Richard
The Book of Hubert
The Ascension

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Comedy Tonight: The Begatting of the President

  1. Dennis says:

    YES!!! I have searched for this! Thank You!

  2. Robert Felker says:

    I’m happy to hear this again. I bought this album in 1969 and parted with it when I got rid of all my LPs a few years ago. Satire at its best! Thanks for bringing it back.

  3. Pingback: Orson Welles: The Begatting of the President | Aural Abortions

  4. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. There has to be an easy method you are able to remove me from that service? Thank you!

  5. I don’t even understand how I stopped up here, however I thought this put up used to be good. I don’t understand who
    you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger in the event
    you aren’t already. Cheers!

  6. Pingback: Orson Wells- The Begatting Of A President – DONKEY-SHOW

Leave a comment