RIP Larry Levine

Larry Levine died at age 80 from emphysema. Quite simply put, he changed rock music as he was the engineering backbone of Phil Spector’s Wall of Sound. His thunderous stamp was placed on such classics as “Be My Baby,” “He’s a Rebel,” and “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling.” However, for this tribute, I want to post the first record I ever heard with the Wall of Sound. My aunt had a 45 of Darlene Love’s “A Fine, Fine Boy,” which I first heard when I was about 9 years old. After the opening piano trill and Love exclaiming, “My boy…” an explosion of music occurs in what is probably the most jubilant expression of love for a guy I’d ever heard in pop music.  I was completely blown away. It’s still my favorite Spector–and for that matter, Levine–masterpiece.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

