Zodiac Zingers

Tonight’s comedy album is What Month Were You Born?, a look at the different personalities related to the zodiac signs. In each of the comic sketches, an interviewer chats with someone possessing the traits of the astrological signs and usually giving the poor guy grief. The sketches are performed by Johnny Melfi, Dorothy Vann and Jim Evering and this album was recorded in 1967 on Fontana Records. Melfi, I think, might be the same “John Melfi” who was a producer of “Sex and the City.” Vann and Evering are credited with writing episodes for “Mama’s Family” and “Major Dad.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zodiac Zingers

  1. Will Shirley says:

    I listened to this album a zillion times in the 60’s and laughed every time! I’m so glad I can share it with my friends. Thanks!

  2. Libby says:

    My brother & I were just talking and laughing about this oldie but goodie. It’s great to hear it again.
    Thanks.

  3. D. Alexander says:

    I have been looking for this since 1988. I only had a copy of it on cassette tape from 1972 and it got stolen.
    Thank you so much.

  4. Johnny Melfi (1929 – 1987; yet another one gone far too soon!) was an actor from Connecticut who had a few, mostly uncredited film roles in the late 50s and early 60s – in The Beat Generation, Bells Are Ringing, Send Me No Flowers, etc. He is also known for writing the underground disco hit “Sun…Sun…Sun” (1977). The song and the “What Month Were You Born?” album are both available on YouTube at this time (June 2016).

  5. wscott1995 says:

    This is one of my favorite comedy albums of all time. I found it at a used record store decades ago after having heard it on the radio years before that, but I loaned the album to someone and it hasn’t come back yet. I’m still hoping. But how wonderful to be able to hear it here! Thanks so much. My daughter and I both listened to it when she was growing up, and tonight we got to hear it again. Hilarious! Some lines I’ve never forgotten. No one can mention a certain musical without my thinking “I haven’t had such a wild time since I saw the Sound of Music!” LOL

Leave a Reply

